Writing when you’re too exhausted

cat nap

Time and time again I find myself just yearning to write, but when I actually have time, my brain is shot.

Am I making excuses?  Maybe. But I also think this is a common issue among any sort of artist who desires to write, paint, or play music but just can’t physically or mentally fill more tasks in their day.

I work a very mentally straining job during the day. I stare at spreadsheets, work on formulas, write email marketing blasts for clients, prepare for meetings, conduct meetings, and so on. I am sure you as well work a job that you find either physically or mentally straining; both in which can cause your writing to be put on the back burner behind sleep, more sleep, and the occasional TV show.

There was a time that I didn’t have a mentally straining job, but a physically exhausting one instead. I thought that if I could find a job that didn’t demand me physically, I’d be ready to write when I got in front of a computer.  Wrong.

Now there is nothing physical about my job, and I feel like my energy to write is worse off yet.  Sometimes I think, “If I have to look at another document, email, or just any blank page that needs filling, I will scream.”

But then I turn on my music streaming service while I am at work.  Some of these streams I created to revolve around writing, and I get ants in my pants.

“I can’t wait to go home and write,” I nearly exclaim.

Of course often times when I actually do get home, I am once again mentally shot.

So what does one do when they’re too exhausted to write?

In some cases, I really feel it all comes down to two things: self motivation and being in love with your stories.

Self Motivation:

There are all kinds of ways to keep yourself motivated. Set goals. Make reminders for yourself. Draw your characters out. Listen to a song. Set out specific time and force yourself to write. Really, when it comes down to it, no one is going to make you write your book. You have to be self motivated to get a novel done. It’s not like your cats are going to ask you how your novel is coming.  If they do that, I am very impressed.

(I always tell my cats to get a job, but they just lay there and pass judgement.)

Being in Love with Your Stories:

Sometimes, I think this one is the most important piece of the puzzle.

Believing that the story you have to tell is important…

Having that feeling that you will burst if you don’t one day get your story out…

Talking about your made up characters to people as if they are real…

Being in love with your stories is the best self motivational tool and recipe for success you can get.  That is, of course, if you don’t bottle up your story all your life.

Uncork that story… because it matters.

What do you do when you’re too exhausted either physically or mentally, to write?

Leave a Reply

